X-Men Prime Issue #1 Review

x-menprime_cover

Review:

X-Men Prime Issue #1 is a colorful presentation written by Marc Guggenheim, Greg Pak and Cullen Bunn and Drawn by Ken Lashley, Ibrahim Roberson, and Leonard Kirk with Michael Garland.

I want to begin this review by prefacing my little history of reading comics. I believe absolute transparency needs to be adhered from the “get” so, there! As a matter of fact, my knowledge of the comic genre comes from other mediums such as television, film and video games, yet, my LOVE and adoration for these characters and worlds and stories are endless. The only comic I have ever read was The Walking Day Volume One: Days Gone Bye which came after experiencing the material in television form.

Now that my dream is to pursue a writing career as a comic writer, I’ve decided to go Back to the Basics (which is the name of another X-men issue I will be reviewing later this week). I want to enjoy this journey with people who love this medium of writing because now that I’ve gotten a taste, I can’t get enough!

We begin this issue with an inner monologue from Kitty Pryde, a.k.a. Shadowcat, as she is dancing in a loft studio in Chicago, Illinois, leading what seems to be a normal life. But she is then visited by Ororo Monroe, a.k.a. Storm, and thus, our journey into the new X-men begins.

First of all, can we take a second to appreciate that Splash Page of Storm. It was gorgeous, perfection, representing of a goddess. The artwork throughout this entire issue is stunning.

Kitty assumes rightly Storm’s visit to request her presence back into the fold of the X-men. After having a brief conversation with a remorseful Storm, we find out that the X-men had gone to war against the Inhumans, an initiative led by Storm herself. Kitty was in space enduring adventures with the Guardians of the Galaxy and did not partake in this war.

The X-Mansion has been displaced in Limbo where for the most part, all the mutants and students there are safe. But they are lost, without direction, licking their wounds after a war nearly left them extinct. As Kitty traverses through the Mansion, she encounters the faces of old friends and the nostalgic feelings of being an X-man.

At a point, we see a young version of the original X-men team–Cyclops, Marvel Girl, a.k.a. Jean Grey, Angel, Ice-Man and Beast–conducting a Danger Room simulation. Apparently, this team was displaced through by an older Beast. (What?! Where was I? When did this happen?!) Kitty at first believes the five to be conducting a simulation without proper supervision but learns it is just a prerecording. The original left the premises of the X-Haven, their adventures to be continued (I’m assuming because I have yet to read it) in X-men Blue Issue #1.

After, Kitty meets up with Magik and after a conversation, decides that the X-men do in fact need her. She tells them that it is time show the world that they are more than just mutants, freaks, homo superiors, or whatever adjective this world has affixed upon them. That instead, they will show the world that they are heroes.

Verdict:

For the first X-men comic I have ever read, I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I am sure for many, it may have come across as a lackluster, not much new information, a simple rehashing of events but for me, it deepened my love and adoration for this franchise and I can’t wait to see what else is in stored for the X-men.

There was, however, a segment of the issue that felt displaced because it didn’t go with the rest of the issue’s primary story arc, however, from the marketing standpoint of the Weapon X Issue #1 coming out this April, I understand its placement but I could have also done without it.

Rating:

I rate this issue, and again, it comes from the fact that I am very new to the medium, a 8.5/10.

Also, feel free to leave in the comments below what comics you would like for me to read. They can be old, new, or whatever and I will do my best to review whatever is most requested.

Pick up X-Men Prime Issue #1 digitally or in stores near you at comicshoplocator.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

